How To Contact Your Interviewer

OK, too many people seem to want to know how to write a mail to your interviewer. So here’s my template. Use it as you like it, or tweak around it or chuck it in the bin if you think its crap.

Hi Interviewer First Name,

My name is OutOfMyJeans and I am an aspirant for the INSEAD full-time MBA program starting in Jan 10′. My application has been short-listed for the interview stage. W.r.t. that, the admissions committee sent me your contact details to arrange for an interview with you.

Please let me when know when would be the most convenient time for you to meet. My timings are pretty flexible (if it’s not, mention it here).

You can always reach me on my mobile (number) if that’s easier. The admissions committee has given me your contact number as 123456789. Do let me know if there’s some other number to contact you on if this is not valid.

I have attached my application form (or CV), which was submitted to INSEAD, for your perusal.

Hoping to hear from you soon and thanks in advance for taking time out for this.

Warm Regards,

OutOfMyJeans

2 Responses

  1. No offence to anyone but its kinda interesting that there are people who think they are qualified to make it to a top B-school, probably have 5 or so years of work-ex, consider themselves future leaders…but need help in writing an ordinary email.

  2. Well, stress makes people (even smart ones) go loopy I guess. I blame b-schools in part for this hysteria. They make admissions seem like black-magic and applicants are left clutching at straws as to what might make/ break their application. So, the general reaction is to get paranoid on every single detail. At the end of the day, people need to trust themselves more. They’ve probably written 1000s of e-mails (in ~5 years of working) and this should be a walk-in-the-park, but like I said, stress and desperation makes even the smart ones go loopy.

Leave a Reply

