2-weeks old

So, the new year has dawned. With it, all those danged resolutions, and stuffy promises crowd the mind, and fill up the heart. Promises are meant to be broken and I am yet to fail that adage. Gone are those resolutions to attend gym everyday, to write to a pen-pal weekly (by escargo), to pick up a new musical instrument, to not pick unnecessary fights, and generally to be a brand new person. The new year brings about this delusional confidence that we can pull all these off; the curse of January. The advent of February brings about the sweet relief of release from the mental chains of pressure, guilt, and conformance with expectations. The entry of March brings about the hope that next year will dawn fresh and these resolutions will definitely be fulfilled next year. The next 9-months brings about the satisfaction of thrashing this year’s resolutions till the cows come home.

So, as you can see, I don’t do resolutions anymore. However, a somber thought is upon me today at the start of a new year. Yesterday, I attended the first of the INSEAD parties. It was a NYE party. I met many of my future classmates. It was an odd sort of meeting. No one knew anyone (well enough at least); FB and Connect were kind enough to at least make a few names recognizable. However, it felt a little like the first day at primary school; A sea of strange faces, and names. Awkward moments were broken by the common INSEAD questions of explaining your background. And, then a sort of standing musical chairs (imaginary) would occur and the whole ritual would repeat until everyone “knew” everyone. Let me honest. It’s not possible to remember so many names in one meeting. Memory and alcohol have a direct relationship. So, after one round of musical chairs, it was not uncommon to see little groups of musical chairs repeating all over again. Hey, it was a way to kill time till midnight struck.

Anyway, after the party, I came back home and introspected. How many people would actually remember me after that party? And, I realized that there was a sameness to everyone. Everyone was super-qualified and everyone was a superstar. “Normal” takes on a whole new meaning in INSEAD. After a while, things go into a blur and then you’re on auto-pilot mode. “Where are you from?”, “What were you doing before”, “What do you plan to do after?”, “Are you going for the party on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday?” come out like ink from a squid who’s lost bladder control. Sometimes, the answers are not even important. This gets a little tiring when you’re trying to do this with ~500 people. I am trying consciously to keep this process human and try to reach out to people on a more sincere level. I guess sincerity should count for something. At the end of the day, if I can make even one true friend for life, I will consider myself as satisfied.

Dammit, I’ve just gone and made another resolution…

4 Responses

  1. Agree…the parties are like speed dating!!

  2. […] whole, but a few checked in. INSEAD ‘11 Out of my Jeans attended his first INSEAD party and was overwhelmed by the number of names and faces to remember. Kellogg ‘11 Orlando attended a presentation by Professor Harry Kraemer, and touched upon […]

  3. I just ran across your blog today. Congratulations on joining INSEAD. I’m planning on applying to business school in the near future. And so reading about your experiences at INSEAD has inspired me.

    I’ve been reading lots of MBA blogs recently and have a suggestion for how this blog can reach to many other needful B-school applicants. Beat The GMAT, which is a very active GMAT/MBA site, recently launched a blog directory (http://www.beatthegmat.com/blogs/all) to promote MBA blogs. If you add your blog to their blog directory, a lot more people like me will find your blog!

    Please keep posting great stuff!

Leave a Reply

